Beauty Dish Carrier Option #1

I have been looking for a way to carry my beauty dish without resorting to archaic methods. Like carrying it out to a shoot, bare. Meaning, no cover, no case, or sometimes, in a plastic bag.

Most beauty dishes don’t fair to well when banged into something. I remember when I took my Paul C. Buff silver high output beauty dish out for a shoot last summer. Now mind you, I don’t remember banging into a solitary thing. Nothing. I remember getting to the boardwalk, and setting up. I grabbed my dish, and lifted it up to place it onto my strobe, and felt a dent in the outer portion of the dish. Now, Im standing there, on the boardwalk, spinning a large, silver beauty dish, searching for answers. How the heck did this happen? I remember looking up, and to my surprise, a small crowd had gathered. I think that maybe they thought I was about to start playing the steel pan(LoL). It was kind of funny actually. I kindly raised my right hand and said, “It’s ok, I’m a photographer”. But I digress. You don’t want something like this to happen to you. The dent, from what I could tell, didn’t effect the performance of the dish.

The problem is, I am a little bit of a perfectionist when it comes to my equipment. That dent just plain bothered me. To me, my dish was imperfect now. I ended up sending it back to Mr. Buff, and he kindly replaced it with the White version. So, I researched, and researched to find a case for my new dish. I found out that Hensel makes one, but it’s kind of expensive to me(nothing wrong with saving $). I happened upon an article about using drum cases, and the rest was history. I bought the case you see here, made by Profile, from zZounds.com, for a measly 29.99 + 3 bucks for shipping. The dimensions are 16 by 22. This case is padded very nicely, and it’s deep. You could actually fit about 4, 22 inch beauty dishes in it. It has a great pocket in the front for holding collapsible reflectors and grids for your dish. It also has a handle on the bag itself, and a long carrying strap. Another point that sweetened the deal, was that they delivered it the next day! I love it. It gives you peace of mind when you want to take your dish along on/to a shoot, and it does so at a great price. So, don’t be afraid to lug that dish of yours out to a shoot anymore. At least you wont have to be if you get this case. You wont regret it.

P.S. One caveat about the bag. When you use the shoulder strap, it does feel a little awkward at first, but after a while, you’ll get used to it.

2 thoughts on “Beauty Dish Carrier Option #1

  1. Howdy! This blog post could not be written much
    better! Going through this article reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He constantly kept talking about this. I most certainly will send this post to him.

    Fairly certain he’s going to have a good read. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

