My Hero’s ll

What can, or can’t you say about your parents? There are either too  much words to describe what they mean to you, or not enough. That’s the way I feel about mine’s. I had the opportunity to take them to a Vineyard out on Long Island. My parents are my first real hero’s. Even though as a child, I would have easily came up with a dozen comic book hero’s, ie, Wolverine, Spiderman, G.I. Joe.

When I have a opportunity to shoot my parents, Im very meticulous about it. It’s like, I have these two people in front of my camera, that mean so much to me, I can’t make a single mistake. It’s kind of like I over think making the perfect image. Maybe it’s just my admiration of them, and Im just overtaken by how blessed I am to have them in my life. As much as some may disagree(mostly younger people), your parents are definitely a blessing.

After raising three children, and 37 years of marriage, they deserve praise as much as possible. They did a heck of a job. The funny thing is, if you open a newspaper or watch television, you don’t hear too many stories about great parents. It’s all about that Gaga girl, or Jersey Shore : \

As far as the technical side, I shot this with a Wescott double fold 43 inch umbrella, camera left. SB-800 fired into the umbrella in reflective mode. Camera was a Nikon D40, with a 24-70mm F/2.8. Triggered the flash using Cybersyncs. Got a little hotspot on my Dad’s shoulder, but I think it turned out pretty good none the less.

Leave a Reply

