Yes, I do dabble in HDR.

I’ve been reading the different debates all over the web about HDR photography for about a year now. A lot of photographers feel like it’s crap, it’s really not a genre of photography, it’s just a fad. My experience with HDR is that most clients/customers, like HDR. I have had people see my HDR work and say, “Wow, that is beautiful, how did you do that?”,  and, “Oh, I just love your vision”. I personally shoot HDR occasionally, just to break up the monotony.

I think most photographers that shoot landscapes are more apt to being bitten by the HDR bug. That’s how I began shooting HDR. I remember one evening I came home from visiting my parents and was just cruising around Flickr and saw my first HDR image. I cannot lie, it was breathtaking. I can’t remember the photographer’s name to save my life, but the image left a lasting impression on me to say the least. It was at that point where I decided to give it a try, and to this day I don’t regret it. I actually have some of my best one’s on my living room wall and they look great. HDR can turn out great when it’s done with subtlety. I speak from experience because I’ve overcooked a few HDR images in my day.

No matter how you feel about HDR, the fact is, it is here to stay. To me the debate about HDR, shouldn’t even be a debate. I remember when everyone was using ring flash for portraits at one point. Did it stop? Sure didn’t. That’s the thing about photography, there are trends that come and rarely completely die out. HDR can turn out great when it’s done with subtlety. I speak from experience because I’ve overcooked a few HDR images in my day. I feel like it is more of a personal interpretation, unique to each individual photographer. We all have our likes and dislike’s.

3 thoughts on “Yes, I do dabble in HDR.

  1. I think these are great examples of good use of HDR. HDR is like salt…too much and it spoils the stew. I was an HDR addict for about 2 months until I learned that I needed to tone it down.

    JMK_Photography-1

Leave a Reply

