Getting my @** in gear!

Today was kind of a breakthrough for me. I actually headed out this afternoon, with my business cards, and my portfolio in hand. What an experience. I really didn’t think I was going to be so nervous.

I actually walked into different establishments, introduced myself, and informed my potential clients about what I do(Photographer), and what I was about(creating great images). I have to be completely honest, I actually stuttered a few times. But, this was a big step for me. Even if I don’t get a single call from any of the establishments I went to, I proved to myself, that I can do it.  I can get off my @**, get out there, and step outside of the box.

I became too complacent with getting work/gigs, from word of mouth. Not to say that there’s anything wrong with word of mouth, but I think sometimes, you can get too dependent on it.

I also visited Washington Square park in hopes of getting some quick portraits in the park. I didn’t know they were so strict there. No tripods, no light stands, nothing that stands on the ground.

Now, I really don’t like to break rules but ummm, I managed to set up for one portrait, at the edge of the park. As I was leaving the park, in disappointment, I looked to my left and saw a gentleman with a great face for a portrait(to protect the innocent, I will call him Mr. M). I flagged him over and introduced myself. He was a great sport about me taking his picture actually. A really nice guy with a great presence in front of the camera.

So, at one of my most furious paces, I set up my light stand, popped open my 28 inch Wescott Apollo, hooked up a SB-800, and went to turn to ask Mr. M to pose. To my surprise, he was already in pose, and said, “I was waitin for you”. I shot about 15 frames and packed up quickly. Shot it with my Nikon D700, with a  24-70mm F/2.8, triggered using CLS, via a hot shoe mounted SU-800. Gave Mr. M my card, and told him he would be hearing from me again. As I’ve said previously, Mr. M just has a face, and presence about him that’s just made for portraits. I definitely am looking forward to shooting him in the future.

So, in closing, to quote the rapper Ice Cube, “Today was a good day”! Growth is good, and I grew some today. It feels good when you accomplish more than you expected to than when you walk out of your door.

Leave a Reply

