The Holidays are Over. It’s time to get back to work.

 

Peace to 2010, originally uploaded by iamNigelMorris.

Happy New Years to All. I took a little break from photography for the holidays. Spent time with family, giving gifts, and just generally enjoying my time with them. One thing I can tell you about me is, that when I am not shooting, I sure do miss shooting. 2010 is over, and 2011 is here. It is most definitely time to get back to work.

I’ve been working on the marketing of Nigel Morris Photography. It’s been exhilarating and exhausting at the same time. Marketing speaks to my creative side, but it sure can feel tedious. A great deal of detail has to go into it. One of my biggest problems was identifying my target market. As I’ve stated before, I get most of my work from word of mouth. So, I’m pretty much a rookie as far as marketing goes. It is a NECESSARY evil to be a successful photographer. I’ve read numerous books and articles, all basically saying the same thing, “To make it in almost any business, you have to market that business, and market it well”.

Just before the holidays began, I completed the first design for my first mailers. Don’t know how things will turn out from this but, It’s a big step for me personally. I will definitely keep track of the results though. If I am able to land one job/assignment, the mailers would definitely pay for themselves. I got a pretty good deal on them. I’m actually expecting them this week, and I am looking forward to getting the ball rolling so to speak.

One of my New Years Resolutions is to not buy any new gear and focus more on, guess what? Marketing. I hope I am able to stick to it. That’s why I was hoping that the new Pocket Wizards would have been released on schedule so I would have been able to stick to my New Years Resolution, but they got delayed and won’t be out until the middle of this month, tempting me to break my NYR. I guess I’ll cross that bridge when I get to it. I am also still waiting for the 86 inch and 64 inch PLM’s from Mr. Buff himself. I placed the order for those last year by the way.

Also new for me in 2011 will be…..Weddings. Yes, I will be tackling some weddings this year. I’ll more than likely be a second shooter on the first few weddings just to get some experience under my belt. I’ll be honest, for some reason, I’ve had a fear of shooting weddings. I really can’t answer why so please don’t ask. I guess it would be the fear of me screwing up one of the most important moments in a person’s life. Hmmmmm? Yes, that would be it. But I’m the type of person who love’s to face down his fears and conquer them. So, 2011, here I come!


Leave a Reply

