Gavin & Knowing when to press pause

Gavin Viano Fabri, Dancer, shot by Nigel Morris of Nigel Morris Photography

Late last year I began a personal project about international dancers. It started off at a decent pace, and then just slowed to almost a screeching halt. Now, don’t get me wrong, I haven’t given up on the project. It’s just that sometimes, you have to know when to put somethings on hold, and pursue something that will be a little more fruitful so to speak.

Gavin Viano Fabri, Dancer, shot by Nigel Morris of Nigel Morris Photography

To be completely honest, I received a few phone calls and emails from a good amount of dancers, but only got the chance to shoot one. That one was Gavin Viano Fabri. Gavin hails from Rotterdam, which is located in The Netherlands, but lives in Paris, Francis. Gavin has to be experienced to be appreciated. The man is one of the humblest human beings I’ve ever met. Easy to work with, and a really great dancer.

Me and Gavin did the shoot at one of the most unlikely times of the year. December. Yes, the dead of Winter. Outside. Now, I literally detest cold weather, but, when Gavin said he was willing to pull off some dance moves and stretches in 28 degree weather, I said to myself, why not?

Gavin Viano Fabri, Dancer, shot by Nigel Morris of Nigel Morris Photography

So, me and Gavin, in the middle of December, below freezing temps, had ourselves a shoot. The first location was,….(drum roll)……..my roof. I would like you to close your eyes for minute, and visualize 28 degree weather, plus some of the coldest winds I’ve ever experienced, whipping you about the face. It was like getting slapped in the face with a tray of ice cubes.

The second location was a pier that is about 5 minutes from where I live. I remember the day so well because I don’t think I’ve ever moved so fast to get the shots we wanted. I remember shooting a few frames, and then either running back in the car to warm up for a second, or running back inside of my building to do the same.

Gavin Viano Fabri, Dancer, shot by Nigel Morris of Nigel Morris Photography

In the end, I feel that it was definitely worth it. I will continue with the project when things start to slow down a bit for me. I am currently working on two other projects right now, so I really don’t have a lot of time to spare. But, as I said before, i am by no means giving up on it.

Leave a Reply

