Mini-Ports and a stroke of luck, or two

Mini Portfolios of Nigel Morris of Nigel Morris Photography

I received my new mini-portfolio and I will say that I am impressed. They came out great. I am very excited about sending these out in the world and I am looking forward to some feedback on them, good or bad. I stuck to my branding to the letter. I’m looking forward to working on a brand new 11 by 14 main portfolio. From the research I’ve been doing about it, the big one is going to be a little on the expensive side. These mini-ports are a great thing for me right now because I believe it will help me in fleshing out my new main port, without dipping into the savings account. These are 8 by 8 in size. And no, I can’t show the contents because it’s work that has only been seen by a select few. After they get sent out, I will be updating my website with the images that are contained within. I will give you a hint, they are portraits.

I have been working on my marketing for a few months now and let me tell you this, its no walk in the park. For me, marketing has been an eye opening, and eye closing experience. Meaning that, there is a lot that I need to learn, and doing all this reading and researching tends to make one tired. But, in the long run I believe it will be totally worth it.

On a side note, I took a break today in one of my favorite places. The Brooklyn Botanical Gardens. I have been going there since I was a child. Now, I did bring my D300 w/105mm 2.8 with me to get some macro shots in. I do this sometimes just to shake things up a bit. I planned on just shooting some flower macros and that was it. What I ended up getting was something totally unexpected. Nature shots. Now, I’ve been trying to just get one shot of an American Monarch Butterfly over the years. I love their coloration. They are very elusive, for me at least. Today was the day I got that shot, AND, I got a shot of another butterfly that I have no idea what species it is. Honestly, I took this as a sign from up above that things are going to be alright. A two for one day.

American Monarch Butterfly shot by Nigel Morris of Nigel Morris Photography

Unknown Species of Butterfly shot by Nigel Morris of Nigel Morris Photography

By the way, Adorama Pix made these mini-ports, and I think they did a pretty good job to boot. Till next time..

Leave a Reply

