I suck at compositing. Kind of…………

Obi, final image, shot by Nigel Morris of Nigel Morris Photography, Brooklyn Portrait Photographer, 2012

This is going to be a quick post. I love different genres of photography, but I am a portrait photographer first. I can’t speak for others, but compositing images just isn’t my cup of tea. I don’t have any real reason behind it except I am a firm believer in getting it right in camera. A lot of the great composites I see are usually 3 to 11 different images combined. I have seen some that are simply mind blowing, and I love them, but you just have to have that composting gene, that I think I lack. Not saying that I cannot do it, I can, but it’s not my “calling” so to speak.

Now, the image at the beginning of this post, is actually a composite. Yes I know, very contradictory from the title of this post, but let me explain. If you don’t push yourself with your work, you won’t grow. So, basically, this is me pushing myself. This is a light composite, (no pun intended). Meaning, it’s a combination of just two separate images. The first image I shot for this, was of just the empty space, no subject. Now, I actually messed up and shot the first image at f13, 100th of a second, and then shot the actual image with my subject, and background, with the light stand and beauty dish, at f14, 200th of a second. Not the end of the world, but still, small mistakes like this on a paid gig wouldn’t go over too well, and can give you a headache in post, and who wants to sit behind the computer for an ex amount of time for a slight error as 1 and 1/3rd of a stop, when client want their images yesterday, not me. I had to fix it in post of course, but it really wasn’t that difficult. Just some adjustments in exposure and everything was fine. As you can see, I also cropped the final image a little. I think it turned out pretty good for someone who is not really a composite type of shooter.

First image, without subject, by Nigel Morris of Nigel Morris Photography, Brooklyn based Portrait Photographer, 2012

2nd Image, with subject, and lightstand, shot by Nigel Morris, of Nigel Morris Photography, Brooklyn Portrait Photographer, 2012

For those that wanted to know, I used an Einstein 640ws by Paul C. Buff, with their white beauty dish, and a 3o degree grid. The fill is actually the ambient light, which is shade from the shelter I was shooting under. I thought it made a nice contrast against the sunny beach behind him.

One thought on “I suck at compositing. Kind of…………

  1. I’m really loving the theme/design of your blog. Do you ever run into any browser compatibility issues? A small number of my blog visitors have complained about my blog not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Safari. Do you have any recommendations to help fix this problem?

Leave a Reply

