Quick thoughts on an image, new promo’s, and moving on to Medium Format Digital

phone break between set ups, shot by Nigel Morris, of Nigel Morris Photography, Brooklyn/Atlanta Portrait/Editorial Photographer, 2012

Was going through my archives and found this. This was from a shoot I did in February, earlier this year. I remember shooting this while just testing my settings. Some people might say, “well, what was she doing on here phone man”?, but hey, not making excuses, but I told her it was ok, because I was testing the light. It was only the second time I was using this modifier and was just seeing how the light looked.

I  actually feel like its a good image  of her because I caught her in the moment and I don’t even think she knew I was pointing the camera at her. Really love the way she angled her body. Its like she just naturally relaxed after I told her to take a break.

I have been working on a new promo, that I will be sending out next week. It’s the most hands on I have been as far a the postcards are concerned. All in all, I think they turned out pretty well. I actually did a post on how I lit this portrait as well, you can read about it here.

new promo's, Nigel Morris, Nigel Morris Photography, Brooklyn/Atlanta Portrait/Editorial Photographer, 2012

Finally, yes I am moving on to medium format digital. I am looking at Mamiya, Phase One, and Hasselblad systems right now. I actually was going to pull the trigger on a DM33 kit, but pulled back and kept my options open for now. More than likely, it will be early next year when I make my choice and purchase. Till next time.

Leave a Reply

