My Holiday 2012 Promo Piece and my crazy thought process

Holiday Promo 2012. By Nigel Morris of Nigel Morris Photography, Brooklyn Portrait and Editorial photographer. 2012.

Now, most photographers won’t tell you this, but there are always ideas/concepts/lighting diagrams for shoots always rolling around in our heads. Seldom do we share them because, we haven’t gotten around to casting for it, let alone shooting it.

Well, I am going to buck the trend and talk about how I came up with the concept for my holiday 2012 promo piece. I easily get into the Holiday spirit, and there are three movies I must watch around the holidays, “A Christmas Story”, “Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer”, and last, but not least, “March of the Wooden Soldiers”. I absolutely love watching these classics. In November of 2011, while getting in the holiday spirit, “A Christmas Story” came on TV. While watching the movie(that I’ve seen at least 26 times), the thought hit me to shoot something pertaining to the movie, but with my interpretation of it. I absolutely love the different parts of the movie, they’re like little day dreams, where the adults tell “Ralphie”, a 9-year-old boy, who is the main character of the movie, that if he gets his coveted “Red Ryder BB gun” for Christmas, he will shoot his eye out. Just absolutely classic.

Holiday Promo 2012. By Nigel Morris of Nigel Morris Photography, Brooklyn Portrait and Editorial photographer. 2012.

Out of nowhere, the thought hit me like a ton of bricks. I asked my often weird/off kilter self, what if “Ralphie”, did in fact shoot his eye out, but was an adult, and still stuck wearing that horrible pink bunny pajamas one piece that his aunt had given him(you have to see it in the movie, hilarious).

Tada, photo shoot idea! Now, the hardest part was casting for the part of an adult version of “Ralphie”. I basically put a line out for a blonde/dirty blonde, blue-eyed male. After about 2 weeks of sifting through faces, I finally found my “Ralphie”. I chose Mr. Jonathan B. Lerner for my version of “Ralphie”. Funny thing is, when I told Jon about the concept, he actually was pretty excited about shooting it. I purchased the pink bunny one piece from amazon.com, as well as the “Red Ryder BB Gun” replica. I bought the eye patch from my local CVS store.

Holiday Promo 2012. By Nigel Morris of Nigel Morris Photography, Brooklyn Portrait and Editorial photographer. 2012.

Once all of the elements were in place, I was extremely excited to shoot the concept. I booked a studio out in Long Island City, Queens, by the name of Queensbri Studio. Believe it or not, the shoot actually went off without a hitch. Smooth, smooth, smooth. Jon was a great sport and really brought my concept to life. I was looking for a sort of pouting type “Ralphie”, due to the fact he did shoot his eye you. I absolutely love the results. Couldn’t have asked for things to go any better than they did.

Below is the final edit that was sent out to everyone on my contact list. Happy Holidays!!

Holiday Promo 2012. By Nigel Morris of Nigel Morris Photography, Brooklyn Portrait and Editorial photographer. 2012.

One thought on “My Holiday 2012 Promo Piece and my crazy thought process

  1. The courage and ability2 beleive in ur gift of creativity, travel through unfamiliar places enhancing ur talent, as u nourish the soul of instinct.

Leave a Reply

