Black Lives More than Matter

Liora-Harvin-Black-Lives-More-than-Matter.jpg
A portrait of Liora Harvin.

For the past six months, I have been tirelessly working on a personal project, that I have named, “Black Lives More than Matter”. Me, being an African American man, am totally attuned to the history of the treatment of African Americans in this country, as well as the current struggles we face. I am a strong believer in the “Black Lives Matter” movement, but felt that it was too open of a statement. For this project, I asked the participants, why they felt that black lives more than matter? In answering that question, and writing it down, I feel that it was a way to remind people of the great contributions, albeit through struggle, and conflict, that African Americans have made to this country, in spite of said struggles. It was also an outlet for each individuals personal feelings toward the current situations at hand, thus, being a very cathartic experience for them. For me, it was a way to express this in a visual manner, which, as a photographer, is my preferred method of expression. The project is not finished yet, but will be very soon. I am currently still on the lookout for participants, so please feel free to contact me via email, or in the comments, if interested.

Leave a comment