“Black Renaissance”, a project left incomplete

BlackRenaissance2.jpg

This is a bitter sweet image for me. It is from a project that I never completed. The project was to be called, “Black Renaissance”. The project was inspired by my favorite paintings, from the Renaissance Period. As much as I love the paintings from that period, I have always felt that Africans, or people of African descent, were not represented well, during the renaissance period, and in most of the paintings from that period, depicted Africans, or people of African descent, as servants. I wanted to show what it might, or what I felt it should look like, if we were shown in a different light, so to speak. I know most may have questions to why I never completed the project, and my answer is quite simple, lack of funds, and, believe it or not, a lack of interest. However, I do believe that one day, I will complete it, hopefully sometime in the not too distant future.

One thought on ““Black Renaissance”, a project left incomplete

Leave a comment